Home Page


The Governing Body Annual Report to Parents

The Role of the School Governor


Alongside the Head Teacher, governors are the strategic leaders of a school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. For maintained schools this is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’. In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:


1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


If you are interested in becoming a school governor, look out for parent governor vacancies on the school newsletter.

Meet the Governors


The following are the current governors of Porthcawl Primary School.  They are all dedicated to supporting school improvement.




Mr C R Williams (Chair)               

LA Governor (appointed by Bridgend County Borough Council)

Ms N FarrLA Governor (appointed by Bridgend County Borough Council)
Mrs C HarrisLA Governor (appointed by Bridgend County Borough Council)
Mrs J BrooksCommunity Governor
Cllr J PrattCommunity Governor
Mr R AldridgeCommunity Governor
Mrs E MayCommunity Governor
Mrs S DavidParent Governor (elected by parents)
Mr C DaviesParent Governor (elected by parents)
Ms M WillmottParent Governor (elected by parents)
Mrs B JamesParent Governor (elected by parents)
Miss J BowenTeacher Governor (elected by teaching staff)
Mrs E RaynerStaff Governor (elected by non-teaching staff)
Ms J RowleyHead Teacher
Ms S DelaneyClerk to the Governors


Head Teacher

Jo Rowley